עָטִין
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.

Unread 02-23-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
gambler
On the road to being a farker

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Horizontal vs. Vertical Smokers?

I'm new at smoking (meats that is), and I bought a Chargriller horizontal Texas style offset smoker. I'm still refining my methods, and improving each time.

But the more I navigate this sight, I'm seeing a lot of vertical smokers. They look like they would be more efficient and more evenly heated. I also noticed that some have water pans. What is the water pan for?

Also the BGE's and BDS's look pretty cool too. Is there any info on this site or anywhere else on the web where I can read the differences between different styles of smokers? I would also love to hear your recommendations on which smoker to purchase next. Thanks.
gambler is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-23-2011, 11:07 PM   #2
Q-Dat
Babbling Farker

Welcome to the addiction!

Verticals tend to be more efficient. Horizontal offsets are usually a cleaner burning cooker. To some the flavor from an offset can't be beaten. Others like the fat dripping on coals flavor from verticals like a UDS.

But there are so many types of cookers out there that it will just take alot of research to even begin to understand them all.