Salmon

D

dkruks

so this is my plan...

2 parts brown sugar
1 part kosher salt

pack on both side of a nice thick fillet of salmon with the tail piece and belly removed to keep a uniform thickness to the fillet

let brine for 16hours

rince thoroughly

let stand uncovered in fridge for 8 hours

smoke at 200F until temp hits 130F

My goal is to use this for crackers, mix with cream cheese, and just enjoy thinly sliced

I have never done this before, so if i am doing something to ruin a good peice of salmon please let me know, and i can change things up some

Thanks,
Dave

well...

on sunday i had a test run of smoked/cooked salmon. I made a mixture of 1.5cups brown sugar and 1 cup course salt. i packed a layer about 1/4inch on both sides of the salmon. i then let it brine for 5 hours. I then rinced of the salmon in cold water twice to make sure i got rid of the excess salt. then i let the salmon sit for an hour, i was waiting for the pelicle, but it never came. It was getting late and i had to get the food cooking so i got the pellet pooper fired up and found a nice constant 240* (3rd time cooking on it so just learning the settings)

placed the meat thermometer in the salmon and put it on the smoker...after about 50 minutes the temp on the salmon was at 120* so i snuck a peak in...the look of the salmon had not changed at all. knowing my inlaws (all meats must be well done...a shame i know, but it has been 8 years, and i am slowing changing them) i cranked the grill and went for another beer. i know that salmon is done at 140* but i let it climb to 160* to get some colour to the out side.