MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 03-03-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
NewBBQer
On the road to being a farker

Default Adding coals

Newbie here, curious I have a drum style smoker and it has the chamber for coals on the side and at the bottom of that chamber it has a little hatch door that opens the bottom side of the fire box, my father in law says that is were you add coals so you dont open the lid and lose heat. There is about a 2 inch space between the great and the top of the lid AKA I burned the heck out of my hands, two questions do I have to lose about losing the heat that much by adding coals with the firebox lid open and two do I need the great or can I just put these coals on the bottom of the fire box?

Thanks!
NewBBQer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-2011, 06:21 PM   #2
Wampus
somebody shut me the fark up.

First......pics ALWAYS help explain yourself.

Second.....I think you're talking about a side firebox like this...

If that's the case, I always add by lifting the lid, not be the side door. Of course, I'm always adding logs, not charcoal. Just me, but I don't worry too much about losing heat in the firebox. It's more important to keep the heat up in the cooking chamber (at least in MY opinion).

Others may chime in with differing opinions, but like you......I just don't want to scorch my hands.