uds charcoal basket

kwmjd

Found some matches.
Reaction score
I don't have the time or know how to even attempt to build a charcoal basket. So I was wondering if anyone sells them already made. I think I can handle the rest of the build. Thanks, Keith

Take some pics to a welding shop, I'm sure they could whip one up for you.

Glad to hear it Johnny! :)
I've been using mine for 2 years and it works great! .... it sits on top of a grate but it would be no problem to add legs made from bolts.

No welding involved, just cutting and folding the expanded metal, then bolting together.

I use the heck out of mine.

That's how I made mine and it works perfectly.

picture.php

I took a 16"x48" piece of expanded metal, rolled it and welded the ends together. I used 2 pieces of 1' flat steel cut 3" longer than the diameter of the rolled expmet. Bent one end of each 2" from the end, made an X through the holes in the basket drilled a hole in the opposite end and put a hitch pin through each one. I drilled a 1/4" hole in the center of the X inserted a 1/2" x1/4-20 ss bolt and nut. Set your grate on top and, voila. I can now pull out the hitch pins and bolt and raise or lower the bottom of the basket for grilling or smoking. I used a pizza pan for an ash catcher held on with 3 return springs. I'm extremely happy with the way it works. My cooking grates are 24" and 31" from the bottom of the drum. I have grilled and smoked on the drum and so far I have no complaints.

Attachments

• Bill's Homemade Smoker 003.jpg
    Bill's Homemade Smoker 003.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 551
  • Bill's Homemade Smoker 004.jpg
    Bill's Homemade Smoker 004.jpg
    79.7 KB · Views: 544
  • Bill's Homemade Smoker 005.jpg
    Bill's Homemade Smoker 005.jpg
    102.6 KB · Views: 536
Here's mine. No welding, minimal cutting, and all held together with stainless strap-ties.

It's 12x12x12 and can easily run my drum at 225 for 24+ hours.

Attachments

• DSCF0384.jpg
    DSCF0384.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 531