MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 12-18-2011, 06:26 AM   #1
rcubed3r
Knows what a fatty is.

Default Pros and Cons of Dry Aging

I purchased a 10.5 lb. hunk of standing rib roast for Christmas Eve.
I am considering dry aging for up to a week, but I have never done that before.
What are the pros and cons?
I guess the biggest thing I need to know is if I can somehow ruin the meat by doing this.

Thanx!
Ron
rcubed3r is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2011, 07:10 AM   #2
Will32Rod
Full Fledged Farker

If it were me, and the rib roast was in cryovac, I would just wet age in the fridge. Too many varibles and factors involved in dry aging. Dry aging needs to be done in a very climate controled environment.
Will32Rod is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from:--->
Old 12-18-2011, 07:14 AM   #3
southernstyle
is one Smokin' Farker

+1 on the wet ageing. as will said it has to be in the original cryovak though. if not it wont work.dry ageing steaks for a week will work, but a roast will not benifit much "not as much surface area" also climate has to be perfect for dry ageing.

Old 12-18-2011, 07:17 AM   #4
ThomEmery
Babbling Farker

plus two

Team What Wood Jesus Que?

Www.bbqthom.com
ThomEmery is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2011, 07:44 AM   #5
Whitfield
Knows what a fatty is.