Large or XL BGE

fingerlickin'

Quintessential Chatty Farker
Reaction score
Ok, so I have a friend who sells BGE's and I'm getting one wholesale! I just don't know if I want the large or XL. I typically will do 8 racks of ribs at a time on my vertical gasser (which is my only smoking vessel right now) or 2-3 butts at a time filled in with fatties just to fill er up. I don't know how much I'm going to be able to do at one time on the BGE large or XL.

I was thinking maybe I could get the large and start the ribs on the BGE and finish them on the gasser or get the large and build a UDS for larger cooks or maybe just get the XL. I would love some advice if anyone has some to share.

BTW in case you didn't notice I am a newbie and yes, I did just introduce myself in the cattle call. If anyone is interested I posted a few of my first pron on there as well.

Peace

Whole sale huh??? I'll take a little of that action neighbor!!
Go look at both of them. I like my Large for my cooks, and would like a second, but I don't know that I would like to an XL - seemd a little too big for my uses. The quesitons is - do you cook those quantities just to make the best use of your cook or are you feeding that many folks?
I am sure the guys with the XLs will chime in here soon.

2 - 3 butts and you would be fine with a large. But for 8 racks of ribs you would need the XL. I'd say get both.

I would get an XL, now I have been wrong before but I believe BGE has redesigned the XL. The Dome is more Egg shaped like the Large. I would be sure to get the newer design if it exists...

I say go with the extra large. You could always get the fire reducing ring to save on fuel for smaller cooks.

Good luck.

BUY BOTH! The XL for big cooks and L for smaller grilling like steaks.

Yo guys I was trying to get an opinion on which ONE to get. I should've known you would say both. That would probably be the right thing to do if I had the dough.