Street-food Question

JG89

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post to the forum although I feel a thanks is already due to the wealth of knowledge and advice on here, its a mine of information, keep up the good work!

I have recently decided to take my love of BBQ to the next level and am starting a small catering business. We will start to operate at a street-food pitch which brings me to my question.

Obviously I am not gonna be able to cook on site (or have the smoker on site at all for that matter), so what would your advice be for the best way (Best meaning as close to tasting as if it was straight from the BBQ) to reheat, hold and serve? I don't want to serve already dripping with suace :mad:

I have no commercial catering experience what so ever so sorry if this is a basic question. I have had a quick search but couldn't find the info on my specifics. Sorry if this has already been discussed and I have missed it.

Thanks again!

What are the health codes in your area. That is the first place to start. Find out what is allowed and then work from there. Do you need a certified kitchen to cook in, to be able to sell you product. There are son general rules that are followed in the States, but I am not sure what a street food pitch is so can I assuming you are not in the States?

Why is it obvious that you can't cook on site?

The pitch will be on a busy high street and I don't really fancy firing up the Lang there and sitting with it all night, I dont think the local authorities would be too pleased either. Sorry I should of elaborated more. Thanks both for showing an interest though!

I am based in the UK. The street food pitch is literally a pop up stall for 4 hours on a busy city street.

Any advice and guidance on methods would be greatly appreciated.