Questions about grilling with wood

dedmete

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I have some questions about grilling with wood instead of charcoal. I have a Weber chimney, would I put wood chunks in that and start it the same as charcoal? My grill is a similar but not nearly as fancy and cheaper Wally-world version of this: http://www.lowes.com/pd_177898-95393-DGO576CC_4294857761_4294937087_?productId=3086667&Ns=p_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_quantity_sold|1&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl_Charcoal%2BGrills_4294857761_4294937087_%3FNs%3Dp_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_quantity_sold|1%26page%3D2

I was planning on cooking chicken thighs tonight, but I thought I would ask here first on the proper way to cook with wood. I've never done it before (besides hot dogs on a campfire). I have a bag of hickory chunks that I use for smoking in the UDS, can I use those? I would assume that once the wood is lit, let it burn down to coals in the grill before putting the chicken on? Anyway, any direction or advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks.

My Advise, use lump charcoal and split up the chunks to add the wood flavor. The time you take to burn down the wood to be usable can be well served with cooking time on the lump. with the addition of the wood chunk pieces for the flavor.
The lump charcoal is your best bet.

cooking with wood..................;}-

Yes,you can use the 'chimmney' to start the wood,as long as it is in chunk form-2"X2"X2":thumb:Get them going and add 1 now and then (pre-heated).
Have your fire on one side of the 'bowl' and use it for searing fast cooking;the other side have a few of those chunks heating up.:rolleyes:
Don't flip them too much;after you get them scored on one side(peek under),rotate them 45* for those crossbar or X's. You can flip them in a couple min. and do the same way on the uncooked side.:thumb:
When done let them rest 4 to 5 min. to re-distribute the juices and enjoy your delicious Carnivor treat:clap2:
Have fun and as always...