MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 05-10-2014, 04:59 PM   #1
HookedOnQ
is one Smokin' Farker

Default First time chuck roast need advice

Looking to do something different so I plan on picking up a chuck roast tomm to throw on the drum. I have never done one before and im trying to figure out times, temps, rub, finishing sauce, and also do you prefer pulled or sliced. I've done some research and im seeing a lot of different ways people are doing them so I figured i'd ask here and see what you guys had to say

Old 05-10-2014, 05:04 PM   #2
landarc
somebody shut me the fark up.

So many ways to do a chuck roast. Two of my favorites.

1. Treat is a lot like brisket, basic rub of kosher salt, medium grind black pepper, granulated garlic and onion, and smoke until it is probe tender. You can actually slice it on a bias, and it makes great slice meat.

2. Do the same as above, but, once probe tender, cut into 1-1/2" chunks or so, coat thoroughly with a 50/50 mix of BBQ sauce and water/beer/juice and place in pan, cover for 30 minutes in smoker then remove cover and another 15 to 20 minutes. to cry up the sauce a bit.

Either way, I run my smoker between 270°F and 300°F

Yelonutz: me either, but, then again, I don't drink any less
[/SIZE][/COLOR][/COLOR][SIZE=1][COLOR=DarkRed]
[COLOR=Pink]SSS[/COLOR]
[/COLOR][/SIZE]
landarc is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from: --->
Old 05-10-2014, 05:34 PM   #3
Ron_L

Name/Nickname : Captain Ron