Taylor Thermometer

Taylor makes good products. I'd trust that before I'd go with Maverick, especially for $15.

I bought this unit a while back and now use it as a backup, but never had any issues with it. Definitely worth the $15. I never put the batteries in the wireless pager that comes with it so I can't speak to that.

There are many quality products made in the USA before you consider a made in China product IMO

YMMV

Not to be captious Teleking, but, which ones would those be? I have no idea which thermometer products in a low to moderate price range are made in the USA, if you know of them, could you post them?

Here is an interesting site, where you can look for American made products...

http://www.stillmadeinusa.com/

As for thermometers, I found that Weber makes one that is part of the "Wever Style" line that is made in USA, and sells for $33 at Meijer.

CD

I have been using that thermometer for a few months. it seems to work well. the programming of a target temp is clunky and when the unit goes into power-saver mode you lose the programmed temp. Both the unit and the remote beep (the remote will beep, buzz or both) They give a warning beep at 20* before target, 10* before target, and at target. If you crossed one of those threshholds and then dropped a few degrees and then went back across the beeping drove me nuts. I have gone to just powering on the unit only when I am actually checking a temp. The remote had enough range to beep from 50' + through the walls of the house. For $15 I would grab two so I could monitor meat temp with one and grate temp with the other.