• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

more smoke in a WSM

royfraz

Reaction score
I am still pretty new with my WSM I love it and the way it keeps heat is frickin amazing. I was just curious when I've done briskets in it, I lack a smoke ring, should I put more wood chunks. I usually put 5 or 6 in when I do the minion method or should I try to find green wood, any suggestions would help thanks.

No green wood, it could leave a bad taste. I'm using a Pro Q which is similar to the WSM and have not been happy with the smoke. Find I am adding chunks throughout the cook. Have a turkey planned for Sunday and will see how that works out.

You should use the search function as there has been an extensive thread on this in the last week. One recommendation is to start with cold meat. Meat absorbs smoke up to about 140 degrees internal. The longer it takes to get there the better the chance for the ring. If you want to try artificial stimulants try tenderquick. It's a pickling product that supplies the nitrates or the nitrites or whatever the hell it is that makes the smoke ring. I've never used it so you'll either have to search here for how to use it or wait for someone else to jump in.

I cook on a uds mostly, and if i put the meat on before the drum is up to temp I get a better smoke ring. Colder meat helps too. I've tried extra wood and didn't like the taste. And NO green wood.

With more wood you are more likely to just over smoke your meat. Does your meat taste of smoke? Does it have the level of smoke flavor you desire? If it does and you add more wood you will more likely just have over smoked meat.

Are you looking for a smoke ring because you want one for appearance sake? If that's the case there are a variety of ways to give you a smoke ring without increasing the wood.