Tools for the beginner

J

Jumpkix

Hello everyone!

My question for today is pretty simple. I am a college student ready to begin the art of the Barbecue. So what will I need to buy to get started? I am very partial to the Traeger grills ever since my friend made a Brisket for us and the taste difference was amazing! I literally have no prior knowledge, so if someone could generate a basic shopping list or any suggestions, I would really appreciate it :) Also want to know your thoughts on buying a Traeger. Would you recommend this or an alternative? Let me know your thoughts :) Thank you!!

Smoker (whatever you decide on or can afford), pit thermo(s), meat thermo(s), welding gloves, food handling gloves (come in handy), good knives if you don't have any already, charcoal, wood, mop or basting brush, foil pans are helpful, rubs, sauces, good tongs that can hold weight, I'm sure a million other things I'll let the others fill in...

Hello everyone!

My question for today is pretty simple. I am a college student ready to begin the art of the Barbecue. So what will I need to buy to get started? I am very partial to the Traeger grills ever since my friend made a Brisket for us and the taste difference was amazing! I literally have no prior knowledge, so if someone could generate a basic shopping list or any suggestions, I would really appreciate it :) Also want to know your thoughts on buying a Traeger. Would you recommend this or an alternative? Let me know your thoughts :) Thank you!!

A Traeger is a great grill but I use mine when I don't have the time to tend to a fire and enjoy spending the day cooking some bbq. At your age without the stress of wife, kids, career etc... why not get a stick burner and learn about fire management. Or build a UDS. A weber kettle is great for grilling and smoking if set up indirect. Just my thoughts. I love my Traeger and it produces great bbq, but I only use it when I don't have time to have some fun...