MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 08-04-2013, 07:30 AM   #1
tamathumper
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Default Disappointed in my second try with ribs

I bought ribs from a different butcher for my second try with St. Louis style ribs. I'm still very new to this, so I can't really tell what the heck is in the package, as in what part of the pig is this?! What kind of cut is that?!

These ribs were very fatty, and there was an extra thick part of the ribs, so I need to figure out what that was.

I used a 3-2-1 that worked so well on the ribs last time, and I put apple cider and spray butter into the foil.

They were very juicy, but they were disappointing compared to the last time, and my wife agreed - we think they were underdone. Great smoke flavor but disappointing texture and pull.

I did some more reading and learned about the bend test, so mental note for next time. Bend the ribs! These were definitely stiff when they came out of the smoker. The temp was 225 for most of the time, although it was a very windy day yesterday so the smoker was heating a lot more than last time when it was 96 degrees and still out.

Today, my first attempt at a pork shoulder (butt?), the boneless half at 3.69 pounds, with no brine.
tamathumper is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-2013, 07:41 AM   #2
aawa
Babbling Farker

If the ribs were not falling off the ribs, or very flexible it means they were undercooked.