MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 05-18-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
chambersuac
somebody shut me the fark up.

Default Cooking a brisket

I am new at using a smoker and have a lot to learn. When I hear others talk about smoking a brisket, I hear "low and slow" and "18 hours" etc. However, 18 hours seems like a LONG time for some briskets. How do you know when to take the meat off the smoker? I put a 6.5 pounder on the offset about midnight (225-250 degrees) and (thinking longer is better) took it off at 3 P.M. and it was too well done. Good burnt ends, though...

Please advise...

Thanks in advance!

Dan
span.jajahWrapper { font-size:1em; color:#B11196; text-decoration:underline; } a.jajahLink { color:#000000; text-decoration:none; } span.jajahInLink:hover { background-color:#B11196; }
chambersuac is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
WineMaster
Babbling Farker

Your probably mistaking that its too done for not done enough.

MJH From Backyard Bomber BBQ -- Junior
YS 640 Comp
22.5 Weber Kettle
Blue Thermopen

Comp Team
Wine & Swine
WineMaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2009, 04:26 PM   #3
chambersuac

Quote:
Originally Posted by WineMaster;[URL="javascript:void(0)"
927848[/URL]]Your probably mistaking that its too done for not done enough.
Really? I never thought of that! The meat was tasty, but I didn't have any sauce on it, so it was a touch on the dry side.