Wedding cater job

jsperk

Babbling Farker
Reaction score
I have a customer who loves my BBQ. I haven't done big events but he really wants me to cook brisket and pulled pork for his daughters wedding, for 150 people.He is having chicken as well and sides.

I was thinking a 1/4 pound of finished product for pork and brisket.
Does that sound about right?

He also wants me to serve the brisket and pulled pork, figuring it will go further.

I think four ounces of finished meat per guest sounds a little light. I haven't done any catering, but I worked in the restaurant business for 20 years. We served steak to about 140 at our own wedding, and I think the minimum portions were 8 ounces. And I would definitely add chicken to the mix, both to hold down costs and for guests looking for a lighter meal. There will probably be 80 women there, wearing dresses tighter than everyday wear..

I think four ounces of finished meat per guest sounds a little light. I haven't done any catering, but I worked in the restaurant business for 20 years. We served steak to about 140 at our own wedding, and I think the minimum portions were 8 ounces. And I would definitely add chicken to the mix, both to hold down costs and for guests looking for a lighter meal. There will probably be 80 women there, wearing dresses tighter than everyday wear..

Yea he is definitely having chicken and I was planning on 4 oz each of brisket and pulled pork. I told him I don't cater and know that stuff, so you let me know if you want more and I'll cook more. He said that should be good. I wanted to put on him and not make the call on how much.

8 oz of brisket/pork, plus chicken and sides will be more than most people will eat. Make sure you have a plan for what to do with all the leftovers and the ability to safely store them.

8 oz of brisket/pork, plus chicken and sides will be more than most people will eat. Make sure you have a plan for what to do with all the leftovers and the ability to safely store them.