MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 09-05-2019, 02:21 PM   #1
TxQGuy
Full Fledged Farker

Name/Nickname : Big C
Default Fajita help needed!

Hi y’all. I have an embarrassing admission that I am going to share: I can’t make fajitas. As an avid griller/smoker, this is unfortunate. As a born-and-raised Texan, it is downright shameful. I come before you today to seek your help and advice on how to remedy this situation.

My problem is that I do not understand the cut of meat. I just don’t get beef skirt steak. Sometimes it comes out somewhat ok (but never delicious or awesome). Other times, it is like chewing on a tire, with a weird, gamey flavor. My results are so random that I’ve struggled to find a pattern or correlation. With most meats, there are certain steps you follow, and things you look for that indicate how you should cook that particular meat (i.e. trimming the flap on the back of a rack of ribs, or wiggling the drumstick on a whole chicken to see if it’s tender). I have NO dang idea how to do fajitas. I guess I’ll start by sharing my usual process.

1) Buy skirt steak that is neither too thin nor too thick.
2) Try and trim as much of the fat/silver skin as possible
3) Pound it with a meat tenderizing hammer
4) Marinate overnight in a mixture of beer/Italian dressing/Fiesta Brand Mesquite Fajita Seasoning
5) Sear it quickly direct over a blazing hot mesquite coal bed