What Cut for Pulled Beef?

JiveTurkey

is one Smokin' Farker
Name or Nickame
JT
I just got asked to cook pulled beef for 100 this weekend. What cut should I use for this? Would brisket work? We'll serve in corn tortillas with salsa fresca. Yes it's for mexicans! ;)

Also, what is the difference between "pit beef" and "pulled beef"? I thought they were the same thing but google searches say I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance for any help.

The only pulled beef that I have done or had is beef knuckle. It is very good and cooked basically like pork. Some will cook it in a foil pan of broth.

You may want to take the chuck to 205. Start checking at 190 or so. You also may want to use foil or a pan after 160 to retain juices.

For Mexicans, huh? Well, I have plenty of experience with Mexicans.:becky: I'd go with chuck roll or brisket. Carne desebrada (pulled) is most times made from brisket that's been braised in the oven till it pretty much falls apart and served as you described. That is usually what is considered "bbq brisket or just brisket" by Mexicans. Very much different than from what brisket is considered in the Q World. Don't think there's really much of a difference in how they'd like it as opposed to someone else. That's what I'd go with. Are they expecting a certain cut or method of prep? Could be they may be expecting something totally different. I'd ask them since they are footing the bill for it I presume. Heck, they may even want it Texas style which also tastes pretty dang good served up a warm tort with salsa.

Bob

Why, Sir Charles Roasterford of course!

That's my personal pick anyway.

I stop over from work and purchase a 15 ll shoulder for this coming weekend , a clod is hard to beat. But actually any cheaper cut of beef make good pull beef.

I'm mexican too, shhh don't tell anybody! :p