MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Catering, Food Handling and Awareness > Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses.

Notices

Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. this forum is OnTopic. A resource to help with catering, vending and just cooking for large parties. Topics to include Getting Started, Ethics, Marketing, Catering resources, Formulas and recipes for cooking for large groups.

Old 02-27-2018, 10:44 AM   #1
RuBBQCo
Knows what a fatty is.

Default Meat Amounts

I am still fairly new in the business, and while I have a pretty good idea of how much meat to cook for this event, I'd really appreciate the insight of some seasoned veterans to see what they would do.

# of people: 75

Meats: Ribs (spare), Chicken (specifically asked for half chickens split into leg/thigh and breast/wing sections prior to serving).

Sides: Baked beans, Potato salad, Green beans, Macaroni and Cheese

How many slabs of ribs and half chickens would you prepare for this # of people with this # of sides (keeping in mind that each half chicken will ultimately = 2 pieces)?

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-27-2018, 03:54 PM   #2
Kimo1
Full Fledged Farker

Name/Nickname : Kimo1

19 racks and because you are forced to give 2 pieces of chicken per serving, 38 halves would be a base.
Kimo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:--->
Old 02-28-2018, 05:25 AM   #3
IamMadMan
somebody shut me the fark up.

If you guess, you will always be the bad guy, when something runs out. When I catered, I always specified in the contract the customer's request, X number of plates of ribs, and X number of plates of chicken quarters.

It takes guessing out of the equation and prevents them from putting the blame on you when something runs out. No one knows the people better than the customer themselves.