Enough Pulled Pork?

aGATORSfan

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
After reading many threads regarding "how much food do I need", I am doing a fundraiser for a local church's youth group. They have purchased 101 lbs of Boston butt. I figure this fill make approx. 200 sandwiches?? Am I close in this calculation or am I way off? They asked me how much sauce they will need. I told them a gallon? This is my first time cooking for this many people, so I'm learning as I go. Thanks in advance for any information that may help with this event!!

Starting with 101 lbs. you should get around 60 lbs of finished product. We do 1/3 lb. sandwiches, and they are plenty big! So I would get around 180. Your numbers are not far off, especially if you do 1/4lb. sammies.

After reading many threads regarding "how much food do I need", I am doing a fundraiser for a local church's youth group. They have purchased 101 lbs of Boston butt. I figure this fill make approx. 200 sandwiches?? Am I close in this calculation or am I way off? They asked me how much sauce they will need. I told them a gallon? This is my first time cooking for this many people, so I'm learning as I go. Thanks in advance for any information that may help with this event!!

Boston Butts yield 50-60% of their weight.
Sammich uses between 1/4-1/3 lb of cooked meat.

Going with the lower yield and higher amount of meat in a sammich.

100lb of pork butt will yield 50lbs of cooked meat.
1 lb of cooked meat will make 3 sammiches.
50lbs of cooked meat will yield 150 1/3lb sammiches.

Going with the higher yield and lower amount of meat in a sammich
100lbs of pork butt will yield 60lbs of cooked meat
1lb of cooked meat will make 4 sammiches
60lbs of cooked meat will yield 240 1/4 sammiches.

If you want to yield 200 sammiches, it would be a safer bet to make them 1/4 lbers. Because if at 50% yield that much pork butt will yield 200 sammiches.