Corned Beef Brisky & Spares (Heavy Pron)

R2Egg2Q

is One Chatty Farker
While looking around at the local Costco for something to cook & enter in the Where's Your Green Throwdown, this caught my eye:
IMG_7475.jpg

At $4.79/lb, I figured this is likely a rare opportunity for me to try some wagyu. Some of these SRF flats had some incredible marbling but were pretty thin. This one had a nice uniform thickness. I remembered that corned beef points were on sale at Safeway so I decided to grab one of them as well:
IMG_7470.jpg

I have zero experience cooking corned beef in any way but read some very informative posts by Brothers Thirdeye & Landarc about them and knew I had to soak these in water for a while to remove some of the salt. Here they are after 48 hrs of soaking and with a rub (Thirdeye's recipe) applied:
IMG_7494.jpg

Since I had so much space left in the XL BGE, I decided I would toss in some spares that I could enter into the Spareribs "Masters" Throwdown. I got to work trimming them into St. Louis cut spares:
IMG_7485.jpg

Pulled out some fine rubs made by Brothers (left to right): Ryan Chester, Big Brother Smoke, and Plowboy:
IMG_7488.jpg

Seasoned the ribs:
IMG_7492.jpg

Loaded up Jabba with the meats, hickory chunks, and cooked away at about 240 degrees & glazed with a Blues Hog Original/Red & Big Butz Original sauce mix:
IMG_7505.jpg

IMG_7525.jpg

Gave the ribs the old bend test:
IMG_7527.jpg

Sliced up the spares:
IMG_7537.jpg

IMG_7538.jpg

And gave them the taste test:
IMG_7513.jpg

I needed some veggies to go with the corned beef so I put some carrots, red potatoes, cabbage, beef broth and some corned beef drippings into a dutch oven and stuck it into the Egg:
IMG_7544.jpg

Eventually everything finished up and rested and I sliced up the point:
IMG_7551.jpg

and the flat:
IMG_7556.jpg

and served up a small plate for myself (I was already pretty full from eating ribs):
IMG_7569.jpg