Do you prefer the top or bottom

I

IQ2

...rack when cooking a single brisket on a WSM 22?

Couldn't find a decent packer so ended up with a 5.5 pound CAB flat from Harris Teeter that I'm going to inject with broth and rub the night before. This will be my first cook on my WSM.

Also, water in the pan or left dry?

What temp would you shoot for on the WSM?

My plan was to get the meat to 180 or so per the Maverick and then put it in a foil crutch with a little broth until it hits about 200 then off and rest in a cooler for an hour or so.

Newbie here.. your patience and help is truly appreciated! Thanks!

If I'm only cooking on one rack I use the top - it's easier.

I have an 18.5 that I run with a brinkman charcoal pan full of water. You don't have to use water but I'd use some type of heat sink/barrier. There have been a handful of recent threads about WSMs, read through them to get the full spectrum of ideas.

When I first got a WSM, I used it like the instructions said until I had mastered it, then I started plying with other configurations like the Piedmont Pan, foil balls and sand. Made it easier because I had a baseline for how a WSM would normally react.

Of course, I did not have the Brethren to lean on.

Use the top rack, but take the lower one out. No need for it to be there gettin dirty.

If you don't have access to sand, or a clay saucer to fit, roll up some baseball sized balls of foil, put them in your water pan, and cover with HD foil to catch the grease. You can use aluminum cans too.

I run my WSMs at about 250-275 on the dome thermo. The stock WSM thermos are notoriously inaccurate (from what I have read) so use an oven thermo on the top grate, shooting for 230-250. Some may advise to go 'hot and fast'. I have never done it so I can't say.

As far as when the brisket is done, use a probe and insert it from the side of the brisket, it's done when the probe slides in like "budda".