MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 06-30-2010, 12:55 AM   #1
nascar mike
Got rid of the matchlight.

Default 275 Gal Oil Tank BBQ Build

I am brand new to all of this and I am looking for help in design ideas to utilize a 275 gal oil tank to make a bbq/smoker trailer. Any and all help would really be appreciated.
nascar mike is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2010, 05:09 AM   #2
Lightning
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Well, I am in the same boat as you... sort of. Right now I am trying to figure out how to safely get out the oil residue and fumes so I can make some cuts and sandblast it.
The 2 options we have at this moment is;
A: Fill it up full of soap and water and let it sit for a few days and drain it.
B: Use some gas to cut the oil and drain it and let it air out.

Whatever you do make sure its cleaned out real good before you cut on it or you will blow yourself to kingdom come!!! That being said, I have decided on keeping it vertical and going reverse flow. We are picking up a trailer kit from harbor freight this weekend since it is cheap and will work well for this project.

Aaron
Lightning is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2010, 05:59 AM   #3
Skidder
Babbling Farker

Don't use gas!! EVER! I would power wash it then give it a good burn.
Skidder is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2010, 07:19 AM   #4
Smokin Turkey
is One Chatty Farker