MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 07-23-2011, 01:21 PM   #1
fingerlickin'
Quintessential Chatty Farker

Default First smoke on BGE. Lookin' for advice.

Well I'm finally almost finished with my table.

Just have to cut the hole in the butcher block top today.

Anyway, I'm planning on doing the first smoke on my XL BGE on Sunday, BB or spares not sure which yet. I'll warn you I'm a novice with lump charcoal. I'm ashamed to say it but I've been a gasser most of my life. Even my first smoker. I wouldn't mind some tips on using the egg.

If I had specific questions these would be a few:

Fire building tips

How high to fill the fire box

minion method or not? (I'm planning a pork butt later this week so any tips on that as well would be great, I'm assuming I'll need more charcoal for that cook)

Setting the vents and dialing in a temp

anything else you can think of and want to add would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Peace
fingerlickin' is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from:--->

Old 07-23-2011, 01:25 PM   #2
eagle697
is one Smokin' Farker

Check Out This site. http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramic.htm

There is a ton of info there that will help you out.

2 NB Banderas, Imperial Kamado #5, Imperial Kamado #0, Large Grill Dome, Large Primo Kamado, 22.5 Weber Silver, 18.5 Weber Silver
eagle697 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from:--->
Old 07-23-2011, 01:30 PM   #3
LMAJ
somebody shut me the fark up.