MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 06-14-2008, 08:33 AM   #1
Porkpuller
Got rid of the matchlight.

Default Newbie

Hey Group

I am a newbie from Long Island who recently received a charbroil offset smoker as a gift. I have been smoking pork butts for a few years using an electric smoker but have never used a real fire. I practiced a few times using charcol to try to maintain a fairly steady temperature. I was hoping to try to smoke some ribs for fathers day but need some advice. First off should I use wood chunks, wood chips or logs for my smoke. Secondly I tried to access the recipe to get rib rub recipe but the site told me to send a private message to one of the moderators before I can get access. I am not sure where this should be done or exactly how. I have been lurking in the background for about a week after I joined but now I am ready to start smoking.

Porkpuller
Porkpuller is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-14-2008, 11:05 AM   #2
BIGWILLY
Full Fledged Farker

Welcome, my wife was born and raised in Amityville, are you near there?

UDS
Stainless Gasser
Disco (plow disc, ranchera disc, discada)
Char-Broil "Patio Caddie" (Gas)
Cook n' Kettle Cast Iron Grilling Kettle
BIGWILLY is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-14-2008, 11:24 AM   #3
Porkpuller

A couple of towns away. My wife gets her hair done in Amityville at the Gazebo. Your wife should know where the Gazebo is located if she lived there for any length of time. Thanks for the welcome

Old 06-14-2008, 04:38 PM   #4
Bigdog