Perfected Methods

tjus77

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
After reading some post from Ron and others, I was wondering, just how many of you have perfected you method of cooking your brisket and don't dare try anything different? And how long did it take to get there?

I've been cooking brisket at home for 15 years and finally came up with the perfect method (for me and my friends and family). I am my own worst critic, my family says it's great all the time, but the last two cooks I have to say, this is what I've been looking for! Tender, juicy, just the pefect smoke.

I found some cherry wood down here, but didn't pull the trigger since it was kinda expensive, but I think I still want to try it next cook (didn't I just say I was through experimenting?)

You have reached BBQ Nirvana !!!!

I think I've perfected my brisket technique (temps, wood, foil, cooler time etc) after a few years of constant experimenting from others ideas here. I also have my "go-to" recipe for contests, but it's still fun to tweak some flavors and try new rubs when cooking at home to keep it interesting.

I remember the first brisket I ever cooked. It was horrible in retrospect but at the time I convinced myself that it was better than any brisket I'd ever eaten at any BBQ joint I had been to. Funny what time will do.

I would be very interested in your technique. I happen to have all the cherry wood and apple wood I can find. (Flathead Valley in MT is full of cherry orchards).

i envy you... i'm still fumbling around... but now that i found the brethren.. that should all change.

First brisket i ever smoked in 1990... i sliced it up at 10pm and it was "rare" in the middle.. LOL.. man i'm glad i can laugh now.. back then i had 10 ppl standing behind me that had been waiting all day for their brisket... it was truely a nightmare.

could you just condense your 15 yr experience down to one ... enlightened, profound, inspireing paragraph.. and share your secrect O great and wise one?