Cochinita Pibil, the begining

Kevin

Quintessential Chatty Farker
Reaction score
Kevin's Cochinita Pibil

I've been studying recipes for Cochinita Pibil for a couple of years. Rick Bayles and Steven Raichlen offer some good ones. There are even some interesting videos on Youtube. Most of them involve wrapping the pork in banana leaf and roasting in a pit. I've been making this with various methods and what follows is what I did today.

The cast of characters:
Starting with the red brick at the top and going clockwise we have 3.5 ounces Achiote paste, 1 teaspoon Cumin seed, 2 teaspoons Kosher salt, 1 teaspoon Mexican Oregano, 1 teaspoon black pepper corns, 5 cloves Garlic and a medium white onion quartered. From the bottles at the top I will use 1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar and ¾ cup Naranja Agria (bitter orange juice).

Marinadeingredients.jpg

7 pound pork butt.

Butt.jpg

This ones for Poobah.

Moneymuscle.jpg

Roast the onion and Garlic in a dry skillet until you get a little charring on all sides.

Toastingtheveggies.jpg

Roast the Cumin seed in the dry skillet until you can smell the oils begin to release.

ToastingtheCumino.jpg

Grind the pepper corns, Oregano and toasted Cumin with a mortar and pestle. I put the salt in there too. The grit seems to speed up the grinding process.

Grindingthespices.jpg

Put all of the marinade ingredients above in a blender and puree to a smooth paste. Don't put the pork butt in the blender, it won't fit.

Blenditup.jpg

Remove most of the fat cap and make small slits all over the pork to allow the marinade to penetrate.

Areate.jpg

Place your pork in a non reactive vessel and slather the marinade all over it.

Inthemarinade.jpg

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

That's all for today. The pork will be wrapped in banana leaf and into the pit about 8:00 PM for an overnighter. Hope I remember to post the results:p.