Boneless leg of lamb

chambersuac

somebody shut me the fark up.

Batch Image
Reaction score
Someone brought a boneless leg of lamb to me. I don't want upset my Smokin' Austrailian friend, but I have NEVER cooked lamb before. I'm looking for cooking suggestions. I'd like to smoke it with Simply Marvelous Peach...but since that doesn't exist, I'm thinking of Simply Marvelous Cherry or Apple. Suggestions?

Also, temperature (smoker and internal) times?

Thanks. I'd search, but know that I might get info overload that way - and I'm at a conference getting too much info anyway.

Dan, I love lamb and was the first to receive Bill's Aussi Lamb Farker award.

I'm not an expert but IMO nothing beats rosemary and garlic. I usually slice garlig into small pieces and then make slits in the meat and insert the garlic. Then rub with rosemary and oil. Cook low and slow like beef. I usually pull mine at 135 for a nice med rare. Wrap in foil and towels to rest, about a half hour. I can't wait any longer than that.

Wood to use is your choice, I like hickory.

Good luck.

I'd like to smoke it with Simply Marvelous Peach...but since that doesn't exist, I'm thinking of Simply Marvelous Cherry or Apple.

MAN.....you are nothing if not consistent!!!:laugh:
Don't give up Dan!!!!
Ask (or in your case....KEEP asking) and it shall be given to you!!!!!

Never eaten or cooked lamb. No clue.
Came here because I thought this was a PRON post.

Dan,

FWIW, I really love this lamb recipe...
This is actually from Bill and Cheryl Jamison's Smoke & Spice, just to give credit where credit is due.

You need a 5-6 pound boned leg of lamb to start. You can have your butcher do the job, or do it yourself, depending on how confident you are in your knife skills. (I realize yours is already boned, but figured I'd still mention it)