Corn On The Corn - Smoker or Grill ??

Pappy

is One Chatty Farker
Reaction score
Granite City, Illinois (Near St. Louis "GO CARDS")
I have never cooked COTC on the grill before or on a smoker. I would like you opinion, if you have tried it before. I have about 24 ears to cook.

I saw a recipe on here where you remove the silk and rub on EVOO and pepper, leave the husk wrapped around it and smoke for 2 hours at 225.

Well I'm a newbie round here, but roasting corn husk and all over charcoal is the only way my familys ever done it. We soak the corn in water for several hours (all day) precook, one little thing we like to do is add maybe a cup or less of sugar to the water. Then setup your weber for a direct cook and slap a grill full on and cover! Just keep rolling them baby's until they are good and dark all the way around. You can throw the cooked ones in a paper sack and roll the top down, that will keep them warm and ready. Good luck with whatever you do! and Happy 4th to ya!

The way I do it is to just cut a bit of the end with the silk/hair off the corn and slap them on the charcoal grill until the outside is completely charred. In my opinion, you can't really mess this up because the corn will start to pop if it is getting over-done, which is basically at the point where I think it tastes best - maybe something to do with the natural sugars carmelizing?

I've both grilled and smoked--prefer grilled.
Grilling 4 ears this afternoon to go with a smoked turkey breast.

I trim excess stalk and silk end -- just for appearance.
Soak for a couple of hours.
Grill on low to medium heat till husk is dried out and charred.

The silk almost falls off.

Good Eats!

TIM