• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Someone tell me what's up with tri-tip?

caseydog

somebody shut me the fark up.
Reaction score
I hear about tri-tip all the time, and I hear it is awesome.

But, every time I go to middle or Nothern California, someone hands me tri-tip in some form, and it is tasty, moist, but tough as leather.

I look at tri-tip the way I look at ANY steak at Outback Steakhouse -- people lure me into a trap. It is like Lucy with a football an I am Charlie Brown. Try this, you'll love it. Then the plate comes, and I hate it.

I ate one of "the best tri-tip sandwhiches" you can get once' and I bit into it, and half the damned meat slid out of the bun. I had this six inch beef tongue hanging down my chin and an empty bun in my hand.

So, is tri-tip like other delicacies, where most of the commercial stuff is crap, but if you do it right, it is really good?

What have I missed?

CD

Now CD... I'm no expert at all... I just did my first one and I asked for a lot of advice. I smoked it last night, and we had a VERY nice dinner with it. And today, I've just had a roll with tri-tip leftovers and it was so tender I could have pulled it, even though it was not smoked to pulling temp.

So, what I'm thinking is this.
1. If you treat any cut of meat badly, it won't forgive you
2. If you don't rest it, it will be tough.
3. If you cut it wrong, it will be tough.

Commercially, those above 3 things happen in combination, or by themselves almost every time and that's why you've always been disappointed. I can only recommend getting a tri-tip and following the advice that made me try and BBQ one. I'm a convert. Tri Tip is AMAZING!

Cheers!

Bill

The grain in a tritip is a little weird. It's possible that whoever is slicing it isn't paying attention to the direction if the grain.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I hear about tri-tip all the time, and I hear it is awesome.