Green wood

V

volkanator

Was wondering something...I know they say to use seasoned wood only for smoking because otherwise you get creosote taste on your food...

As a firefighter, I've taken several classes on the science behind fire and I understand that creosote (and smoke in general) is the result of incomplete combustion (ie. wood burned at low temperatures).

I understand that the seasoning process is basically allowing the wood to dry out so it can burn hotter and easier. I also understand that green wood is just wood with a high moisture content.

So here is my question...if we soak our wood chips/chunks before cooking anyway, why can't we just use green wood instead?

I don't soak my chips or my wood. You are wasting your time, especially on the wood. The water does not soak in like most people think it will.

Funvet is right. Soaking wood is counter productive. It gives off a sooty, white smoke. You want to achieve a clean smoke, or sweet blue, to smoke meats. If you use a stickburner, you will want a small fire, not a smoldering mass of charcoal.

It's my understanding that green wood will release chemicals not found in dry/seasoned wood. Potentially producing a bitter or acrid flavor. The only time I soak wood is if I happen to use chips instead of chunks. I only do it to slow the rate of burn, and I only use chips if I'm out of chunks and I have to borrow some from my neighbor (thanks Kenny)!

If I'm wrong, please straighten me out.

Matt

I sure hope you can BBQ better than my grilling FF buddies. They only think they know what good que tastes like !

Matt

IMO, you can smoke with green wood +30% mosture, if you have a hot fire and high pit temp above 325 deg. I beleve Mr. Mixon uses green wood in his cookers.

Most of the apple wood I like to use is around 6 months old...with 12-18% mosture.(yes, I test it). If it falls under 5%..........off to the wood stove it goes