Smoker seal

JG-BBQ

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Reaction score
What's the best way to seal the lid of the cooking chamber and fire box lids?
I'm new to smoking and have a new OC pecos smoker. I seasoned it with canola oil, and I've done 2 racks of ribs and a small 7lbs brisket flat so far. Both turned out great, but I'm leaking smoke around the lids, not bad but I'm thinking if I seal it, it should help with temp control.
I'm using lump charcoal to start and then hickory logs to cook.

I used some gasket material from one of the smoker supply companies. It worked well for the smoking chamber but the firebox was a different story. My smoker has solid locking handles on both chambers. When the firebox was heated to temp the door had warped so much that it couldn't be closed and latched anymore. I had to strip the gasket material to allow me to close the door fully. So while I recommend using the gasket material for sealing around lids. It doesn't work if there is little clearance. So if your unit is leaking really badly you might benefit from the gasket. If you have a latching unit the gasket might be too thick and cause problems. Not a lot of leeway, either it fits when hot or it doesn't.

When you are burning pure wood. As long as you have good draft out the exhaust. You do not have to worry about leaks.
Split size can make temp swings much less of an issues. Try making some of your splits smaller and see if that helps.
Also, when burning wood. You cook in a temp range. 250* to 300* Averaging 275*
Add a split when you drop to 250* Should climb to around 300 then settle back down. It is not like burning coal/wood where you have more stable temps.
Once you learn your cooker. You can maintain a pretty steady temp using the right sized splits.