MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 05-04-2008, 07:00 AM   #1
BBQ_Mayor
is One Chatty Farker

Default What does a GC feel like?

I got to thinking this morning looking at some of the past contests this spring. Seams like there have been a few new teams getting GC. I've been doing comps for about 5 years and am still waiting for my turn.

Got a few questions for you GC teams.
1) What does it feel like?
2) What do you think your biggest differance was to get you that GC? (from all your other attempts)
3) How long did you cook before you got your first GC.

I thought would be fun to see some of your answers.
WSM, Whole Hog Lousianna pellet Smoker
IPT pellet Smoker and Gateway Drum
CBJ #4643
BBQ_Mayor is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2008, 08:19 AM   #2
Plowboy
somebody shut me the fark up.

1) For my first, I had to sit down for about 20 minutes.
2a) Consist process with the least amount of effort & resources possible.
2b) Quite honestly, 2007 was our best year ever by far. It was also the first year that we commercially made Yardbird Rub. Looking back at our past mixes we'd made on our own with spices from the grocery store, etc... it wasn't the same product. We now use it on everything except brisket. I gotta think that helped us since always have used Blues Hog sauce exclusively.
3) Our GC came in the 8th year of competing. I figure we had done 60-70 contests by that point.

Todd Johns (me); Blue Springs, MO
Randy Hinck (PigBoy); Concordia, MO