Smoke Ring Question

45fan

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
I have only done one brisket and it turned out OK maybe a little overdone but it was still pretty good eats.

I have seen a lot of Brisket Pron on here and some have that nice pink smoke ring and some dont...

What is the trick to getting that nice ring? Mine had a small ring but not that 1/4 inch ring some of you guys get.

I aint asking for any big contest secrets but I would like to do another brisket .... if it ever stops raining!

Thanks!

What kind of fuel are you using?

The smoke ring is over rated. But, charcoal seems to do better at it. It's not really about the smoke. It's about the nitrates (Nitrogen Dioxide) that the fuel produces. Personally, I prefer a thinner smoke ring.

I have a UDS so I am using charcoal and apple or hickory. I am very new at this so I dont know. I just love the look of the nice smoke ring on the brisket.

Thanks!

Hmmm, how cold is the meat when you put it on? Some claim that the cooler the meat temp is when it goes on the more pronounced the smoke ring is.

This smoke ring was created on a UDS using nothing but regular Kingsford charcoal and a chunk of hickory.

picture.php

What kind of charcoal are you using?

Did I read somewhere on here that salt will somehow draw the nitrates in? I think someone named Donnie (funkmaster) was talking about it. I've lurked a lot, so I might be mixing my info up.

Well like I say I have done a total of (1) brisket. But I pulled it staight from the fridge and on the smoker so it was still cold. I have thought about putting the next brisket on before the smoker gets to temp? Maybe bringing the temp up slower as it smokes would help?

Thanks again!

See, that looks awesome! I am using Kingsford blue. I wonder if just over cooking mine was the problem. I had heard so many people undercooking the brisket I think I was afraid to take it off. I made sure it was "like butta" all over the thing.

Nice looking brisket there!