• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Dumb question....

T

The Bengal Thing

Ok, so I am not afraid to admit it... i am a TOTAL newb at all this still, and especially smoking.

My question is this..... are items cooked on a UDS supposed to "taste" like smoke. I know that sounds weird, but my fatties this weekend were not "great" and kind of had an odd taste (now, I have never had a fatty and I used some kind of crazy ingredients which I am sure played a part it in), my main question came in tonight when my wife cooked up the leftovers..... it was seriously like swallowing a huge mouthful of SMOKE

I am wondering what i can do to improve my smoking skills. I am sure I need to get a better thermo and such, but just wondering some of the basics to "smoked" meat and how it is really supposed to taste... etc

What kind and how much wood did you use? Was it well cured? The UDS and good home Q will probably taste different that the local BBQ joints, mst certianly the chain stores.

I have noticed the smoke flavor seems to come out more with leftovers than fresh off the smoker.

You might have used a little too much or a little too strong wood.

What kind and how much wood did you use? Was it well cured? The UDS and good home Q will probably taste different that the local BBQ joints, mst certianly the chain stores.

I have noticed the smoke flavor seems to come out more with leftovers than fresh off the smoker.

You might have used a little too much or a little too strong wood.

I used some hickory chunks.... about 4

It was from Wal-Mart I think.... maybe that is the problem (just some stuff in a bag)

5-22-2009UDStestrun007.jpg

For me I know hickory can get pretty strong. I think for a fattie I woulda cut it back to two. If you can find it try some apple or maybe cherry or pecan. It is a lot more mild.