Tips for a Kamado University freshman (just graduated from Kettle High)

JMM

Found some matches.
Reaction score
What's up everyone?
I'm a noob to the forum, but a fairly experienced BBQ hobbyist. For the past 12 years or so I've mastered my old Weber 22" kettle, ultimately adding a slow-n-sear. I'd gotten pretty consistent results with some practice, and I always loved the simplicity and versatility of the classic Weber.

Then, last weekend, a friend gifted me a barely used Pit Boss K24 ceramic charcoal grill. I'm pumped because this is something I wouldn't buy for myself, and it gives me the potential for larger cuts (brisket!) and higher heat functions (pizza! bread!).

For those still reading this long, first post, I wanted to invite the experienced kamado users out there to offer any general tips for a guy going from a weber kettle using briquettes to a kamado using lump. Any advice you have will be appreciated, but I've got a few specific Q's as well.

-- Is a heat deflector a must for low 'n' slow? (my experience tells me even if I can smoke slow without it, I should buck up and get it to maximize capacity on the grate above)

-- Low & slow Kamado cooks -- water pan or no? ( The only thing making me think twice is the potential for a spill, which I've learned could lead to crack in the porous ceramic firebox)

-- Low and slow Kamado cooks -- wood chips/chunks or no? (Again experience tells me "of course" but my research on kamados also indicates that wood ash could promote airflow issues on a long smoke)

Looking forward to feedback from anyone who's got a minute to weigh in -- both in regards to my specific questions or to offer general tips for my transition. Thanks everyone -- see ya around the forum this summer!

-- Is a heat deflector a must for low 'n' slow? (my experience tells me even if I can smoke slow without it, I should buck up and get it to maximize capacity on the grate above)

Required? probably not...but I would recommend it