MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 11-02-2016, 08:22 AM   #1
Wolfhunter489
Found some matches.

Default Cooking too fast!

Hey guys, I am looking for some advice here. I am a total noob when it comes to smoking. I built my own uds and only have a handful of cooks under my belt. The last time I did a brisket (about 13 pounds) I cooked it at about 175 and it only took about 7 hours. I was looking forward to a nice slow cook and I was surprised how quickly it was done. Don't get me wrong, the brisket came out pretty damn good but I thought it was way too fast. I was thinking about using some kind of diffuser to help redirect some heat around the drum thus slowing down the cook. What do you guys think? Any advice will help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0361.jpg (78.8 KB, 153 views)
Wolfhunter489 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2016, 08:24 AM   #2
chingador
is One Chatty Farker

175?

Rec Tec 590 Stampede, Primo Oval XL, Weber 26" Kettle with Gabby Grills Santa Maria attachment. Lonestargrillz 42" pellet grill on order.
chingador is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2016, 08:25 AM   #3
daninnewjersey
Babbling Farker

You're SURE you cooked at 175? There's no way a 13# brisket cooked that fast at 175.

Old 11-02-2016, 08:31 AM   #4
pigville porkers
is one Smokin' Farker