My UDS build so far...

D

deadanddripping

Ok so this is my 1st attempt at a UDS. I'm a complete beginner at this and I'm trying to get my first smoker on the road as cheaply as possible. I have my drum and I'm setting up for the 1st burn in the morning. How do I know what lining is in the drum? It appears to be a new drum as there is nothing in it. Is there anything important I may need to know about this stage?

My drum has 4 x 3/4" nipples evenly spaced around the bottom of the drum, 2" from base. I have some blanks so I can fill them in. 2" above that I have stuck some rods through to support a ring I welded together which will support my coal basket made of a stainless steel mesh.

So here is my unburnt drum with just the supporting ring
DSC00150.jpg

And here with the mesh
DSC00151.jpg

Do you guys think my set up will work ok? I'm going to use the drum lid with holes in it for a lid and I have to buy a thermometer next and might make a grill if I can't pick one up. Won't be pretty but hopefully functional!

Last edited by a moderator:
I have built seven of them and that looks like a great start. you made the fire basket out of mesh you say how long do you think that will hold up? just wondering.

Looks like a great start... But I too have to wonder about the charcoal basket, seems a bit flimsy to me. Let us know how it works out.

I also wonder about the Fire Basket, it looks like it will choke the fire as the ash will have a hard time falling through.

Man you need some stronger material for that Fire Basket.. Expanded Metal is what I used... The Fire Basket gets real hot

I did wonder that too. It's a pretty heavy guage mesh used as a pharmaceutical sieve screen :-D I stretch them over rings like a drum skin but i've never had a fire in one. I suppose there's only one way to find out? How many burns is normal before using?

Sorry but no cigar.