Issues Seasoning Blackstone Griddle

Purdnost

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Reaction score
I attempted the first seasonings of a 28” Blackstone griddle and had a couple issues. I’m new to this, but I also did my best to follow the instructions that came with the griddle.

I used grape seed oil because it seemed to be the superior choice.

First, the griddle top didn’t blacken near the bottom edge:

312-B63-BC-90-CC-4-F9-C-9-D42-1-F0-EDB699303.jpg

Second, there are a couple of spots that chipped away while cleaning after cooking for the first time:

BB2-E30-CD-FA2-F-4439-9234-F24-BAF073-E70.jpg

E92-EF964-5-ACE-4-C15-BD29-ACE2-E5-EE84-F1.jpg

Third, there are a couple areas where the layer(s) of seasoning are raised:

2666-FEA8-791-D-448-A-92-D6-3-DD353-D47-D18.jpg

39-A3203-C-30-A1-4261-9556-840405773-ABE.jpg

Can these issues be remedied by doing more rounds of seasoning? And what about the area of the griddle that doesn’t seem to be getting enough heat?

Thanks for any insight.

Don’t make yourself crazy trying to season it to “perfection” you did the initial one, now just cook. Mine looks like it went through a war, cooks perfectly. As far the the bottom, are the burner tubes lit up completely at the bottom? Try unscrewing the propane, let it sit for a while then hooking it back up and turning it on. If not, I’d contact black stone. They were pretty quick when I had a problem before and was back up in no time.

This ^^^^^^^^^^^

Just start cooking on it.
At first, the fattier the better - bacon, sausage, etc.

Can’t speak to the blackstone. I have the blue rhino. However one side of mine is more seasoned since it gets much hotter, but it all cooks fine. As mentioned above, check the burners at the edge. Other than that, cook on it and it will continue to season up just fine. Don’t worry about the chips and raised surfaces

I agree, just cook on it.