MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 02-21-2010, 06:29 PM   #1
woodfolks
Knows what a fatty is.

Default 55 gal drum smokers

Just wanted to see if anyone had some pictures, plans,
Ideas on A 55 Gal smoker that was Not an upright
Drum Smoker (UDS)

Also I am new to this can anyone let me know what a BDS stands for.

My reason for the Horizontal 55 Gal Drum was moree cooking area.
I would think that you would have to add a fire box
for an offset smoker. Mabey put a grill rack
In the middle.

This would give you 35" length by about 22.5' wide or so
Much bigger then the 22.5" UDS ( I know you could double the
Racks on the UDS, This would give you more area)
woodfolks is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-21-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
steveheyes
Got Wood.

google "double barrel drum smoker" I think you'll be pleased with what you find.

Old 02-21-2010, 07:08 PM   #3
stepheneleven
Full Fledged Farker

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=double+barrel+drum+smoker

Old 02-21-2010, 08:08 PM   #4
Dave Russell
is One Chatty Farker

IMO, the double-barrel smoker is quite an undertaking for something that's just sheet metal thin and only has so much life to it before burn or rust out....even if there's no welding required. It looks like a pretty big fuel hog to me.