Have you tried maple?

K

kcquer

Has anyone tried smoking with maple? I am a cabinet builder and when you machine wood you get and excellent preview of the smell of the wood as it smokes. When I machine maple it smells excellent. Haven't had any in the shop to try recentlybut have job coming up that calls for it. 99% of what I build is red oak and I unfortunately don't like it on my Q which is a shame because the wood I use is 6-8% moisture (VERY dry) lights very clean. Just wantin to know if I should save scraps or not. scott

Per the "What Wood to Burn" file in the files section:

MAPLE - Smoky, mellow and slightly sweet. Good with pork, poultry, cheese, and small game birds.

And I love the Red Oak Richie sent me. That stuff burns nice. I am using it sparingly, only in the first 3 hours of Q when most absorbtion occurs (not wanting to get off topic with an absorbtion discussion, that is just IMO)

Boss to Scott:
Um...Scott, I noticed there was a truck load of "scrap" maple in your truck. Looked pretty good to me, what's up with that?

Scott: "The grain was running the wrong way"

Boss: "Can you at least return all the hinges and hardware when your done"

Have not tried smoking with maple yet, but, thanks to my dad, I have some that should be cured by spring. So, Bill, ya got some of that coming to if ya want it. And a big ass cottonwood stump to go with that ax. You are going to need to buy a truck before you come down again.

Bill, one big problem I am the boss. Just gotta minimize waste on that job so theres plenty left over.

I personally don't like the way maple burns. I have well seasoned silver maple and it doesn't burn clean even when preheated. I stopped using it.

When I picked up Large Marge I bought a box of maple and a box of peach. Really love the way the maple smells and tastes. It is sweet. Every once in a while I like to throw something really different in the fire for a little 'aroma therapy' the peach and the maple are perfect for that.