MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Competition BBQ

Notices

Competition BBQ *On Topic Only* Discussion regarding all aspects of Competition BBQ. Experiences competing or visiting, questions, getting started, Equipment, announcements of events, Results, Reviews, Planning, etc. Questions here will be responded to with competition BBQ in mind.

Old 12-28-2008, 08:38 AM   #1
JTsBBQ
Found some matches.

Default Question about KCBS Rule

I will be new to KCBS in 2009. I have been competing ont he SCBA circuit for several years. I have a question about using gas in the KCBS.

1. Can I use a propane weed burner to start the charcoal/wood fire in the fire box as long as there is no meat on the cooker?

2. Can I use a propane stove to heat a fininshing sauce?

I read the rules one way. However, in this month's KCBS Bullsheet it talks about a team being DQ for using a propane torch to finish off some type of entry(probably rubbery skin chicken). I understand that part but they went on to ay propane/gas must not be used in anyway at all.

Any info. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim Handy
JT's BBQ
JTsBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-28-2008, 08:42 AM   #2
Jorge
somebody shut me the fark up.

I've never heard of anyone having any issues using propane as you plan to.

Keeping Valspar in BBQ, one cook at a time.

Recipient of a Huggies box!

Shut up, and cook!!!!
Jorge is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-28-2008, 08:45 AM   #3
Spydermike72
Babbling Farker

Tim, I agree with Jorge, as you describe above you should have no issues.
Backwoods Competitor
Backwoods Party
Weber Performer
Certified Moink Baller
Past President of the Great Lakes BBQ Association

For those who fought for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know
Spydermike72 is offline   Reply With Quote