• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Pacific Smoke Signals - Brisket, Fatties, and Wings [all-day affair w/ Pr0N]

ShadowDriver

somebody shut me the fark up.
Reaction score
Mornin', Pholks!

I'm working on a new recipe for a chili cook-off on this coming Friday. Need to kick my game into the next gear. Thinking about smoked brisket and perhaps a fatty (or two) as the meats in the pot. Would appreciate your thoughts on the subject, as I usually just use coarsely ground beef.

Waited in line as the Commissary opened for the day to be reminded that DeCA (Defense Commissary Agency) butchers have no clue what a whole brisket is. *sigh*

2016-04-24%2009.43.45_zpsfpehlrsn.jpg

Oh well. The flat will have to do. Hit it with Oakridge Black Ops (hadn't opened the sampler sized bag from Mike & Co, so I think this is my first attempt with it) and into the smoker over hickory she went.

2016-04-24%2009.59.44_zpsnbircozl.jpg

I have 3 JD Hot chubs defrosting as we speak. Trying to decide how to divvy up the rubs on 'em. I'm thinking John Henry's Apple Chipotle (East TX), Masters Hand Trio Pepper Rub (Fort Wayne, IN), and probably something homemade like our Wicken Yanks Savoury Rub on the 3rd. Who knows.

I also have a 1/2 gal of Altenmuenster in the fridge that's waiting for the sun to rise above the yardarm.
2016-04-24%2010.17.57_zpshm5odhqn.jpg

More to come. Thanks for stopping by.

Nice start Marc! Look forward to more pr0n :-D

Say how's that beautiful little girl doing in her new home anyways?

Cheers, Keith!

I think I hear her stirring as I type. She's sleeping through the night, and was a complete rockstar yesterday at her first wedding experience: one of our loadmasters married a local girl, and we had the full Okinawan experience. Luckily, she dozed in my arms through the ceremony and was bright and cheerful (then dozed off again) through the reception.

Cheers, Keith!