Chicken problem on drum

S

StayDown

So I decided to do chicken two ways last night on the UDS. I did a beer can chicken and a spatchcock (sp?) chicken. This is my first time for chicken on the drum...or any smoker. So I put them on after seasoning them and rubbing them with EVOO to obtain crispy skin.

I got my temp to 245 and let it roll. I had the maverick food probe in the breast of the beer can chicken.

It hit 160 and so I decided to foil the breasts and put the probe in the dark meat. This was after about 1.5 hours. The dark meat was at 137.

I allowed the dark meat to get to 180 and pulled them. I cut the spatchcock first and I saw blood at the bone.

So back on it went. After another 35 minutes I seemed to be good and cranked the heat to 350 to get a crispy skin.

It came out ok but I noticed some stuff around the bone that still did not look right.

I was having a hard time fidning a good place to put the probe without hitting a bone.

Any idea what I did wrong?

Flavor on both birds was great, apperance sucked. Ate the spatch for dinner last night with homemade garlic mash and had the beer can for chicken tacos tonight.

Pics to follow..but sadly none of the blood at the bone

these were two fryers btw

beercan.jpg

spatch.jpg

chickenon.jpg

dinners.jpg

Well, I don't have a drum, but I've cooked quite a few chix on the Weber Kettle. I've not smoked a chicken real slow yet on the ECB, but still, I'll cook a couple birds on the kettle for 2 hrs I guess, so I guess that counts right?