MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Catering, Food Handling and Awareness > Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses.

Notices

Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. this forum is OnTopic. A resource to help with catering, vending and just cooking for large parties. Topics to include Getting Started, Ethics, Marketing, Catering resources, Formulas and recipes for cooking for large groups.

Old 09-10-2013, 02:48 AM   #1
FromthePitBBQ
On the road to being a farker

Name/Nickname : Lumpy
Default Cambro & holding Pulled Pork - HELP!!!

Hello All!!

I have been hired to do an event this weekend and will be utilizing my 2 Cambro UPC400s that should arrive Thursday or Friday. I have never used them before, I always pulled the shoulders just before serving and pulled on site and then stored the extra in pans in a warm oven.

My question is...How long can I hold the pork and keep it moist once it is pulled in the pans and in the carrier? My concern is that it may dry out while in the carrier.

Would I be wise to add some apple juice to the bottom of each pan to help it steam and stay moist? The pans will be wrapped tightly in foil when I do put them in.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 09-10-2013, 04:49 AM   #2
bizznessman
is one Smokin' Farker

We pull and place in restaurant pans, add in au jus (saved from the cook), wrap tightly with clear plastic wrap and load in Cambros. The plastic wrap aids in moisture retention and keeps the juices from spilling inside the Cambros. We have found that foil doesn't really help much since the Cambros are so well insulated. If reheating on site we take foil along and switch out the clear wrap for reheat process.