Infrared Thermometers?

Funky D

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Hiya all!

I'm new to the Bretheren, but have a pit in production this week, so I was waiting to get it back to the house for a pic/introduction.

Still a few days away, but in the meantime, I have a Thermometer question:

Do any of you use infrared therms? I know in the BBQ world, they are of less use, as we're more interested in internal temps, but I'm thinking one might be useful for measuring the external temp of your firebox, to help serve as a gauge of how your running...

(Starting to assemble my competition/backyard cook kit, and there's one on sale here for $17 with a free regular digital)

Anyone use em? Does perfection in reading external temps ever help anyone out?

With a new pit, I think something like this would be great to help you check the temp at grate level throughout the pit. For $17, I'd do it.

i build infared cameras. based on that I would say you wouldn't get good readings. its only going to read the outside of your firebox, which can be greatly effected by the external weather conditions

I've got one but i use it for tune up work on my Corvette. It's easy to see variations of temps on the headers and see if a plug is not firing correctly.

I was given one as a Christmas present a couple years back. It's great for say, checking the temp of your pizza stone. But for barbecue it's pretty much useless

Had a meat inspector use one at a comp last year. Seemed a bit extreme.

i would think your best bet would be to hang a thermocouple in the opening between the firebox and cooking chamber. This will tell you what the heat is going into the cooking area. Seems like that would correlate more closely to how your fire is doing than the outside of the fire box.

Fuel dimissions, fire lociation, paint/rust conditions, outside weather, those are all going to factor into your outside firebox point temp