Greetings from North Carolina!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bbq.tom

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
Hey all-y'all! Greetings from North Carolina!

I am glad that I found this forum and have finally been cleared to post! It took a few days, but here I am!

I am quite the barbecue enthusiast! I am currently compiling research toward a book that I am writing concerning barbecue at restaurants in North Carolina. I've been doing my research for the past MANY years, and now have eaten at and rated 303 Q-joints and other restaurants in NC (as well as numerous ones outside NC). I've talked with a publisher about my book, but I'm still finding new Q-joints out there and don't really want to leave anyone out. Sooner or later (probably later) I will get it published, but right now I'm having too much fun with the research!!!

Meanwhile, in my spare time I judge barbecue competitions. I'm certifed by KCBS, MBN, and the North Carolina Pork Council.

Also, I cook barbecue (mostly shoulders, but an occasional pig) for competition as well as church fundraisers and other social activities. The catering business has slowed down lately, but we used to cater 4-5 functions annually.

Anyway, that's a bit about me. I look forward to posting on this forum and sharing as well as learning from all-y'all.

Welcome!:cool: Sounds like a book I would like to read.:thumb:

Welcome to our crazy little club house!

Welcome to the addiction... Remember, there is no 12 step program for us!!!

Welcome to the addiction... Remember, there is no 12 step program for us!!!

Oh, but there is...

12 Step Program:
1- Find a smoker
2- Find a pig
3- Find adequate fuel
4- Light fuel
5- Put pig on the smoker
6- Regulate fuel/temperature in smoker
7- Go to sleep (fitfully, awaking often and always with a fear that the fire has gone out!)
8- In the morning – check the pig
9- Remove pig from grill
10- Begin cleaning/chopping
11- Add sauce to taste
12- Eat copious amounts