How to improve my scores

BBBQ 28

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Reaction score
Hows it going everyone. I've been competing for a couple years now with about 8 comps under my belt. I'm finding that I am consistently in the lower half and lately been on the bottom of the score cards. I'm looking for any advice on how to help improve my scores. Thanks everyone

Practice is important. But to really cut the learning curve take a class hosted by a team that does well in your area. Some say judging is slightly regionalized so best to learn from a team who cooks in your area

I say slightly regionalized because the good teams usually do well regardless where they cook

Are you getting comment cards? Cooking to the right tenderness and texture is important, flavors can vary but an overall balanced flavor will do well.

Thanks. I am in San Diego, ca. There aren't too many classes this way. I've heard about the regional thing, just trying to figure out what it is

JS-TX I got comment cards yesterday in vista, but the judges were brutal all around. I spoke to a couple buddies that recieved some as well and the consensus is that the judges this time were A holes. Past comps I havent been getting cards

Practice,take good notes take a class or two. Repeat the process.

c'mon Christopher ... a musician doesn't blame his instrument

What did the comment cards say? This might help determining what you need to focus on. Your boxes all look fine, but the scores indicate taste/tenderness concerns.

Take a couple classes from top pitmasters. may seem expensive, but much cheaper than trying to figure it out on the fly.

Considerably less expensive, and in my opinion a better choice is take the judges class and judge 5 or 10 contests. All your answers are right in front of you.
What it should look like, what taste and tenderness is a winner.
Yes it will take a while but nothing ever will just fall in lap.
Ed