MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Catering, Food Handling and Awareness > Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses.

Notices

Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. this forum is OnTopic. A resource to help with catering, vending and just cooking for large parties. Topics to include Getting Started, Ethics, Marketing, Catering resources, Formulas and recipes for cooking for large groups.

Old 03-21-2012, 04:51 PM   #1
HBMTN
is Blowin Smoke!

Default Lessons in business.

Lessons I'm learning in business. When I got into business I consulted a friend who has a huge successful business and asked his advice. He told me to give back to the public as much as I could and if asked for help and I can do it to do it. So I have been doing just that and it has been good for two years but I have to tell ya that giving back to the public is really biting me in the rear here lately. I have been trying to help the community that I grew up in which is about an hour away from where I live now. I donate to them all the time when they ask be it fundraisers for people having problems etc. I catered a huge community reunion last year for 50% of my going rate. This year they are hosting a KCBS competition and I am helping out by cooking for the judges class and promoting it where I can for the good of the community. A local (who is supposed to be my friend) has decided he is going to do a big BBQ fundraiser this year for his foundation and he is getting a guy from outside the area to do it and never even asked me to do it. The BBQ'r he is getting does a 2 meat 3 sides advertised all you can eat meal for $10 pp. I can not come close to that and there is a huge difference in what we do compare to him. Soon after this went viral on Facebook and a class reunion from the area that I had booked saw the cheap prices ($3 cheap