Hi guys..new here and UDS question...

CUTigerQ

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
Hey guys. Im the resident noob here, both on the forum and to smoking meat. I read on another forum and on here how good the UDS's are. I want to build one, but have no...read it again, NO welding experience. I also dont know anyone that can weld. Can this be done without welding? If so, can you point me in the direction for how to get it done?

Thanks...and this is an awesome site. I think I have found me a home.

I am a complete noob and have never welded at all and I built a uds today!

I used "black pipe bushings" found in the plumbing section and locked them in with conduit nuts found in the electrical section at lowes for my intakes. I put a ball valve on one and plugs in the other three ( I am not sure you need four intakes, the plans I was following had four, so ...).

I lit it @ 6 for a test run and it is holding steady @ 280 3" from the edge and 300 in the center of my top grate. I think my lid doesn't fit good enough. I am going to hammer the edge tommorow to see if I can get the temp lower.

It's really easy to do, it took me longer to get the parts than it took to build it.

I am so glad I finally got approved to post, the wait was torture.

One of the great things about this site is that the people that run it are still very involved in things like the KCBS and comps, so sometimes the powers that be are off at meetings or comps. Glad to have you guys aboard and posting. I have seen quite a few builds with no welding. Kcinnick, how did you handle your basket for charcoal?

I got a 24"x24" piece of expanded steel from ace. I cut it into 3 8x24" strips with my Bosch jigsaw. I used ss washers and bolts to make about a 15" circle with two of the strips. I then attached it to a weber charcoal grate with wire. I am going to make the 3rd piece into an insert ring, but I ran out of washers.