MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  



Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2019, 09:19 AM   #16
Whisky
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 12-12-14
Location: Pingree, ND
Default

Whoa, I have never heard of having to unplug the YS640 between cooks. I have never done that with mine, by design anyways. What's up with that??
Whisky is online now   Reply With Quote




Old 07-15-2019, 09:23 AM   #17
Joshw
Babbling Farker
 
Join Date: 09-25-17
Location: Oklahoma
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisky View Post
Whoa, I have never heard of having to unplug the YS640 between cooks. I have never done that with mine, by design anyways. What's up with that??
Not sure about the new S models, but the manual clearly states to unplug the smoker to reset the controller after each use. I normally unplug mine for 10 seconds, right before turning it on.

I'm surprised you haven't had trouble, because I had forgot to do it early on, and it does cause temp problems.
Joshw is online now   Reply With Quote


Old 07-15-2019, 10:27 AM   #18
Whisky
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 12-12-14
Location: Pingree, ND
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshw View Post
Not sure about the new S models, but the manual clearly states to unplug the smoker to reset the controller after each use. I normally unplug mine for 10 seconds, right before turning it on.

I'm surprised you haven't had trouble, because I had forgot to do it early on, and it does cause temp problems.
Clearly I need to start reading manuals....

Coincidentally, or not, the only time I have had temp problems in a couple years of owning the Yoder was yesterday. I was replacing a light fixture in the house that for some reason was on the same circuit as the outdoor plugin for the Yoder. I flipped the breaker on and off twice during that process. And thankfully caught the fact the Yoder had turned off in time. When I restarted (without unplugging it), the Yoder told me I was running way hotter then it actually was. Confirmed by a secondary thermometer. Now I know to unplug it I guess.
Whisky is online now   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-15-2019, 11:58 AM   #19
Bucknekked
Full Fledged Farker

 
Bucknekked's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-18
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Name/Nickname : Terry
Default

I agree with all the remedies mentioned so far. I have a YS640 I purchased in April 2019 so not far from your vintage. Things I always do:
1. Always clean out the fire pot area.
2. Always unplug the beast when not in use
3. Keep the lid open until I'm sure the ignition has taken place


Do you have the heat diffuser with the trap door (the two piece diffuser)? You should be able to see what's going on by just opening the trap door and watching. If you have a solid diffuser, well, you can't . But that's pretty much a must have upgrade. I don't understand why Yoder even sells the solid diffusers.


One other item that's neither here nor there, literally one week after I bought my YS640, Yoder announced a new model of 640 and a brand new controller. I was pissed but my dealer said in the fall when the new controllers are more available I could upgrade mine. If you need to call Yoder, ask about the new controller. Make sure you get on a list for an upgrade if possible. Just an FYI. YMMV
__________________
Yoder YS640 Smoker on an Orange Competition Cart | Large BGE | Thermopro TP20 Dual Probe (Orange) | Thermapen MK4 (in ORANGE, what else?) |
Bucknekked is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-15-2019, 01:17 PM   #20
electron_si
is one Smokin' Farker
 
electron_si's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-15
Location: Midwest
Name/Nickname : N/A
Default

From reading the OP’s post it looks like he has an S model which the build date would support so the controller is completely different
__________________
Yoder YS 640 Orange Comp / Sold: Traeger Lil Tex Elite
electron_si is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-15-2019, 01:38 PM   #21
Bucknekked
Full Fledged Farker

 
Bucknekked's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-18
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Name/Nickname : Terry
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electron_si View Post
From reading the OP’s post it looks like he has an S model which the build date would support so the controller is completely different
I somehow missed the "s" in the 640S in the OP's original post. You are correct he would then have the brand new, and different, controller. I would hate to think that Yoder designed and deployed a new controller after years of flawless service on the existing one only to introduce a problem. That would suck.



Let's see how it turns out. Hopefully the OP will post whatever the fix is or the workaround
__________________
Yoder YS640 Smoker on an Orange Competition Cart | Large BGE | Thermopro TP20 Dual Probe (Orange) | Thermapen MK4 (in ORANGE, what else?) |
Bucknekked is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-15-2019, 03:40 PM   #22
pjtexas1
somebody shut me the fark up.

 
pjtexas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-28-11
Location: Belton, Tx
Name/Nickname : Texas Pete
Default

Can't you just leave the single piece diffuser out until the fire starts in the pot?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
__________________
Paul (aka Texas Pete)
Shirley 24x55 Straight Back / T&K GF /Abe's 48" Entertainer / 22.5 OTG / 28" BS / Jimmy with CB Roti and pizza kit / Red Box Smoker on custom cart
Char-Griller Premium Kettle / Barrel House Cooker / Pit Boss Copperhead / Char-Griller Akorn Jr /Smoke Daddy Pellet Pro 440

The 2019 Texas BBQ Brethren Fall Bash Planning Post! (Link)
pjtexas1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-15-2019, 03:53 PM   #23
Bucknekked
Full Fledged Farker

 
Bucknekked's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-04-18
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Name/Nickname : Terry
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjtexas1 View Post
Can't you just leave the single piece diffuser out until the fire starts in the pot?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
You could, but it would be a giant pain in the butt. You'd have to take out all 4 grill grates. Then heft out that 40 pound single piece of steel that is the diffuser. Reversing the process puts your hands in proximity of the lit firepot when you put the diffuser back in.


You could, but probably wouldn't ever do it more than once.
__________________
Yoder YS640 Smoker on an Orange Competition Cart | Large BGE | Thermopro TP20 Dual Probe (Orange) | Thermapen MK4 (in ORANGE, what else?) |
Bucknekked is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-15-2019, 04:18 PM   #24
Joshw
Babbling Farker
 
Join Date: 09-25-17
Location: Oklahoma
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucknekked View Post
You could, but it would be a giant pain in the butt. You'd have to take out all 4 grill grates. Then heft out that 40 pound single piece of steel that is the diffuser. Reversing the process puts your hands in proximity of the lit firepot when you put the diffuser back in.


You could, but probably wouldn't ever do it more than once.
Don't forget, you have to remove the top shelf, to remove the 1 piece diffuser too. I wouldn't want to do it. Then again, I don't open my lid, or watch the fire pot. I just flip the switch, set the temp, and hit start. Then go prep the food. Only time I have had any problems with the Yoder, it was always my fault, and I knew it immediately.
Joshw is online now   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-15-2019, 05:42 PM   #25
pjtexas1
somebody shut me the fark up.

 
pjtexas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-28-11
Location: Belton, Tx
Name/Nickname : Texas Pete
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucknekked View Post
You could, but it would be a giant pain in the butt. You'd have to take out all 4 grill grates. Then heft out that 40 pound single piece of steel that is the diffuser. Reversing the process puts your hands in proximity of the lit firepot when you put the diffuser back in.


You could, but probably wouldn't ever do it more than once.
I see. My little Pellet Pro isn't so complicated.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
__________________
Paul (aka Texas Pete)
Shirley 24x55 Straight Back / T&K GF /Abe's 48" Entertainer / 22.5 OTG / 28" BS / Jimmy with CB Roti and pizza kit / Red Box Smoker on custom cart
Char-Griller Premium Kettle / Barrel House Cooker / Pit Boss Copperhead / Char-Griller Akorn Jr /Smoke Daddy Pellet Pro 440

The 2019 Texas BBQ Brethren Fall Bash Planning Post! (Link)
pjtexas1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-16-2019, 04:39 PM   #26
Plata-O-Plomo
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Plata-O-Plomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-19
Location: Minden, NV
Name/Nickname : Capt
Default

Hey all, I have been unpluging the 640s after the few times I have used it and I even give it some time after I plug it in so that the newest firmware for the Fireboard is installed. Okay, so lets have it...



As an update, all is well. I appeared to have shut it down before it completed the warm up process. Yoder believes that the over shoot would have stopped and the temp would have lowered to the default 350. I was advised by Yoder to clean out the ash, turn it on, adjust it to the setting I wanted and let it run. I did just that. I set it to 240 rather than the default 350. The Yoder over shot it by 10 degrees then settled down into the right temp after about 30 minutes. However, after stabilizing at 240 I turned it up to 350 and it over shot it by 50 degrees before starting to settle down. It did settle down after a few minutes. I am not sure if that over shoot of 50 degrees in this case and several hundred on my earlier use (see original post) is normal. Seems a bit high to me. But it did not seem to alarm Yoder.


So what I learned, keep it clean, turn it on, start at a low temp, and let it get stable. Then slowly bring it up if I am going to use a high temp so that the potential to overshoot is reduced.


Yes, the heat diffuser with trap door was worth the money. So easy just to open that trap door and shove the shop vac in to clean it out.



YODER STRONG People! And Big Green Egg, UDS, grill...It's good to have options!
__________________
YS 640s Comp Cart, UDS #1 Fat Man, UDS #2 Little Boy, Large BGE
Plata-O-Plomo is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Old 07-16-2019, 08:01 PM   #27
KORND4WG X
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 06-04-13
Location: Seattle WA
Default

Glad it worked out for ya. I don’t own a pellet smoker but I learned a lot anyway
KORND4WG X is online now   Reply With Quote


Old 07-16-2019, 11:22 PM   #28
Nomamm
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Nomamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-10-18
Location: Carson City Nevada
Name/Nickname : Ryan
Default

Yes to what you have learned. Yoder does overshoot a lot. Needs a clean fire pot. I turn mine on, leave it alone for about 45 minutes. Perfect, usually. I see we are close neighbors, I will send a smoke signal out to ya. Haha.
__________________
Yoder YS640 and Weber gasser. Camp Chef Pro 90x with griddle and pizza oven. FireBoard, ThermoWorks MK 4.
Nomamm is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-17-2019, 06:56 AM   #29
LordRiffenstein
is One Chatty Farker

 
LordRiffenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-27-17
Location: Langdorp, Belgium
Name/Nickname : Yoeri
Default

I think the overshoot can also be explained by the fact that not all pellets are the same. Not just different brands but just the pellets in there, some are longer than others. To get to a certain temp, the auger will push pellets into the fire for a certain time. If it pushes more long pellets in there, it means more fuel and a higher temp will be reached.
__________________
20x40" Nette Lette offset - Yoder YS640 Comp Cart - Traeger Lil Tex Pro - Weber OTG 22.5" - Weber GA - 13" mini kamado - wood fired oven
LordRiffenstein is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-17-2019, 01:37 PM   #30
stan5677
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 06-06-17
Location: Frederick, MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjtexas1 View Post
I see. My little Pellet Pro isn't so complicated.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Totally agree set temp and go.
stan5677 is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Forum Custom Search: Enter your Search text below. GOOGLE will search ONLY the BBQ Brethren Forum.
Custom search MAY not work(no display box) in some configurations of Internet Explorer. Please use compliant version of Firefox or Chrome.







All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts